Trivia / Andaman and Nicobar

Of the 572 scattered islands of Andaman and Nicobar, only ____ are inhabited.

  1. 38
  2. 104
  3. 187


Suspended in a splendid isolation, Andaman and Nicobar Islands comprise of more than 572 scattered islands, islets and rocky outcrops. Of these 572 scattered islands, only 38 are inhabited by various groups of people.

This group of 38 islands has a great assortment of culture and tradition. They observe a sheer variety of ethnic groups that make up the region's population. The population of these islands can be broadly classified as aborigines — tribes that have lived on the islands since the earliest times, and settlers — tribes that later settled on the islands.

There are six aboriginal tribes, who have been residing in these islands since generations. Four out of the six tribes, namely The Great Andamanese, Jarawas, Onges and Sentinelese, live in the Andaman group of Islands while the tribes of Nicobarese and the Shompens, live in the Nicobar group of islands. It is to be noted that only about 42 members of the Great Andamanese tribe survive today and shelter in Strait Island.

This Union Territory comprises of 96 Wildlife sanctuaries, 9 National parks and 1  biosphere reserve. The Andaman and Nicobar Islands are considered to be a veritable repository of the rich biodiversity of flora and fauna.

Like this trivia?

Participate in MyWanderlust quizzes, and see how much you know about the places you love!

Checkout all quizzes now