Trivia / Gujarat

The Dwadash Jyotirlinga Yatra begins at _______, which is believed to be the first amongst the twelve Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva.

  1. Dwarkadhish Temple
  2. Akshardham Temple
  3. Somnath temple

Somnath temple

The Somnath temple, located in Prabhas Patan, is the starting point of the Dwadash Jyotirlinga Yatra since it is believed to be the first among the twelve Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva. It is an important pilgrimage and tourist spot of Gujarat. The temple is considered sacred because of being mentioned in various legends. Somnath means “Lord of the Soma”, an epithet of Shiva.

The temple was reconstructed several times in the past after repeated destruction by several Muslim invaders and Portuguese. The temple now depicts a Chaulukya style of Hindu temple architecture. The architecture includes intricate carvings and silver doors. The temple’s main spire is 15 metres in height and has an 8.2-metre tall flagpole on the top.

The temple hosts a light and sound show every evening at 8 PM after the evening aarti. The show narrates the importance and history of the temple.