Trivia / Puducherry

The Union Territory of Puducherry, is a group of ___ geographically isolated districts.

  1. One
  2. Two
  3. Four


Puducherry, formerly known as Pondicherry, is a union territory of India. It was formed out of four exclaves, namely Pondicherry (now Puducherry), Mahe, Yanaon (Yanam) and Karikal (Karaikal).

The districts of Pondicherry and Karaikal are bound by the state of Tamil Nadu, while the district of Mahe and Yanam are enclosed by the states of Kerala and Andhra Pradesh respectively.

Pondicherry district has the largest area and population as compared to the other 3 districts. The UT has been named after its largest district, i.e Pondicherry. All the four districts had retained borders of French India and were organized as a union territory of Puducherry after the de facto transfer of French India territories to India in 1954.

Like this trivia?

Participate in MyWanderlust quizzes, and see how much you know about the places you love!

Checkout all quizzes now